Amor Mundo (2006)

Amor-mundo, ou a vida, esse sonho triste is an animated text which employs generative schemes of both visual and audio animation. Building on metaphors and images from the works of the Portuguese poet Florbela Espanca, and using as its starting point the Actionscript code of Jared Tarbel, this work includes five poems:

  1. Part 1 – Deixa-me ser a tua mais triste mágoa;
  2. Part 2 – Eu queria ser o mar alto;
  3. Part 3 – Passo no mundo a ler o misterioso livro;
  4. Part 4 – Sou o vento que geme e quer entrar;
  5. Part 5 – Horas mortas.

The reader can add to these poems random spatial layers that allow the creation of multiple constellations of meaning.

For this work, Rui Torres had the collaboration of Filipe Valpereiro and Nuno F. Ferreira (programming), Sergio Bairon and Luís Aly (sound), and Nuno M. Cardoso (voice).

Amor-mundo, ou a vida, esse sonho triste (World-love, or life, that sad dream, 2006) is a hypermedia poetry project by Rui Torres, based on poems by the Portuguese author Florbela Espanca. The project invites the reader to transform these poems into animated texts using interactive icons at the bottom of the screen that delete or bring in phrases and words. This makes it possible to experience several levels of reading and complexity with varying visual and audio textures. Such, the reading experience is a direct consequence of the choice and action of its readers.

When introducing the poem, Rui Torres ironically claimed that “the rush reader” needs to be patient since the poem is “to read slow/ly”. The words on screen are read by Nuno M. Cardoso. The sound choices and sound programming were created by Sérgio Bairon, Luís Aly, Filipe Valpereiro and Nuno F. Ferreira. Jared Tarbel was responsible for programming.

Review: Fernanda Bonacho